Since 1966 – International School on Disarmament and Research on Conflicts – Italian Pugwash Group

Detailed Program

Official Schedule

9.00 – 10.30Morning session
10.30 – 16.00Free
16.00 – 16.30Tea/Coffee
16.30 – 18.00First afternoon session
18.00 – 18.15Break
18.15 – 19.45Second afternoon session
21.00 – 22.30Evening Session

Sunday 11 January 2009

Arrive Hotel Gruppo Brenta, Andalo

Monday 12 January 2009

Session 1  Chair: Catherine Kelleher – Secretary: Edward Cava
Introduction to ISODARCO
Carlo Schaerf
Opening address

David Holloway

Session 2  Chair: Nadia Arbatova – Secretary: Hans Christian Gils
How we got to where we are
Lynn Eden

Session 3  Chair: Judith Reppy – Secretary: Chia-Ling Ho
A cautionary tale: France and the bomb
Venance Journé

Tuesday 13 January 2009

Session 1  Chair: Robert Legvold – Secretary: Kamal Itani
Panel: The Current Arms Control Situation
Aili Bi, Marianne Hanson, and Sergey Osnobietshchev

Session 2  Chair: Francesco Calogero – Secretary: Ewa Jamroz
Russia’s response
Alexei Arbatov

Session 3  Chair: David Carlton – Secretary: Huguette Umutoni
Alliance repercussions
Jeff Lewis

Evening Party

Wednesday 14 January 2009

Session 1  Chair: Avner Cohen – Secretary: Ya-Ping Lin
What about BMD?
Götz Neuneck

Session 2  Chair: Lynn Eden – Secretary: Emily Linehan
Verification issues
James Acton

Session 3  Chair: Peter Dombrowski – Secretary: Mathew Davis
Nuclear logics adopters and non-adopters
Etel Solingen

Evening activity
Film: Documentary on Joseph Rotblat

Thursday 15 January 2009

Session 1  Chair: Jill-Marie Parillo – Secretary: Harry Reis
Special cases: India
W. Pal Sidhu

Session 2  Chair: Jeff Lewis – Secretary: Zhao Tong
Special cases: China
Bates Gill

Session 3  Chair: David Holloway – Secretary: Huguette Umutoni
Special cases: Israel
Avner Cohen

Evening activity
Video: Anthropology 101
Video: On the Brink of Apocalypse

Friday 16 January 2009

Session 1  Chair: Venance Journé – Secretary: Ya-Ping Lin
Elimination of Tactical Nuclear Weapons in Europe
Marco De Andreis

Session 2  Chair: Marianne Hanson – Secretary: Edward Cava
The U.S. Global Nuclear Energy Partnership
Jill-Marie Parillo

Session 3  Chair: Bruce Larkin – Secretary: Chia-Ling Ho
The Risk of Nuclear Catastrophe
Francesco Calogero

Saturday 17 January 2009

Session 1  Chair: Sergey Osnobishchev – Secretary: Ewa Jamroz
Next steps
Nadia Arbatov, Peter Dombrowski, Matthew Evangelista

Activity Noon
Catherine Kelleher, Judith Reppy, Carlo Schaerf