Since 1966 – International School on Disarmament and Research on Conflicts – Italian Pugwash Group

Detailed Program

Sunday 10 January 2010

Arrive Hotel Gruppo Brenta, Andalo

Monday 11 January 2010

Session 1  Chair: Judith Reppy – Secretary: Spartaco Amato
Introduction to Isodarco
Carlo Schaerf
Opening address: The Road to Zero: Arms Control and Beyond
Matthew Evangelista

Session 2  Chair: Carl Robichaudi – Secretary: Ece Aksop
General and Complete Disarmament: An Historical Perspective
Randy Rydell

Session 3  Chair: Venance Journè– Secretary: Emily Atkin
Disarmament 2010: Prospects and Problems
Stephen Schwartz

Tuesday 12 January 2010

Session 1  Chair: Arend Meerburg – Secretary: Stefano Batani
Update on START Negotiations
Alexei Arbatov

15:00 – 16:00 Special Tutorial
Nuclear Physics and the Nuclear Fuel Cycle
Arend Meerburg, Mirco Elena

Session 2  Chair: Jeffrey Lewis – Secretary: Eleanor Cooper
Lessons from the CWC and BTWC
Jean Pascal Zanders

Session 3  Chair: Jonathan Tirone – Secretary: Charlotte Spenser- Smithi
How to Strengthen the NPT
Panel: Nadia Arbatova, James Acton, Lisa Tabassi

Evening activity

Wednesday 13 January 2010

Session 1  Chair: Randy Rydell – Secretary: Michele Gaietta
IAEA and the Road to Zero
Tariq Rauf

Session 2  Chair: Francesco Calogero – Secretary: Matthew Harries
Fissile Material Cut-off Treaty
Arend Meerburg

Session 3  Chair: James Acton – Secretary: Tessie Humble
Consequences of Conventional Superiority
Dennis Gormley

Evening activity
Open for participant-organized meetings

Thursday 14 January 2010

Session 1  Chair: Jeff Lewis – Secretary: Matthew Wilcox
Weapons in Space
Barath Gopalaswamy

Session 2  Chair: Alexey Arbatov – Secretary: Angel Kulakov
Stability at Low Numbers
James Acton

Session 3  Chair: Jeffrey Lee – Secretary: Joseph Liddle
Dissenting Views: Should NATO Keep Nuclear Weapons?
Lukasz Kulesa, Marco De Andreis

Evening activity
Open for participant-organized meetings

Friday 15 January 2010

Session 1  Chair: Stephen Schwartz – Secretary: Benjamin Loehrke
North Korea as a Hard Case: Does the Road to Zero Run Through Pyongyang?
Jeff Lewis

Session 2  Chair: Catherine Kelleher – Secretary: Anastasia Medvedeva, Evgeny Kalashnikov
A Chinese Perspective on the Road to Nuclear Zero
Sun Xiangli

Session 3  Chair: Lisa Tabassi – Secretary: Robert Moore
Prospects for the CTBT
Andreas Persbo

Evening activity
Chair: Jean Pascal Zanders – Secretary: Kyle Deacon
Panel: The Future of European Integration, NATO and Nuclear Disarmament 
Giorgio La Malfa, Catherine Kelleher, Nadezhda Arbatova

Saturday 16 January 2010

9:00 – 12:00  Chair: Matthew Evangelista – Secretary: Alex Rothman
Thinking Outside the Box: New Ideas in Arms Control
Panel: Carl Robichaud, Bruce Larkin, Jean-Pascal Zanders, Stephen Schwartz

Secretary: Brian Sims
Catherine Kelleher, Judith Reppy, Jeff Lewis, Carlo Schaerf